Top 5 Songs From Final Fantasy IX

Final Fantasy IX was a reflection on earlier games in the series and this comes through in its amazing soundtrack as it borrows themes and melodies from other Final Fantasy games. The music is diverse featuring arrangements of Spanish guitar, flute, piano and harpsichord giving it a unique feel. These are my top 5 songs from Final Fantasy IX:

1. -You’re Not Alone-

An impressive track for the weight it brings to the narrative. It is dark and melodic representing Zidane’s utter hopelessness towards the end of the game. It starts off simple and gradually adds layers of depth building into a complex melody. An expertly written piece of music.

2. -Melodies of Life-

As the vocal theme of the game, it is both sensitive and uplifting. The melody is repeated to great effect in a few other pieces, but the vocals add a more emotional attachment in this version. It is played during the ending and it is the perfect way to accompany the happy conclusion.

3. -The Place I’ll Return To Someday-

When I think of Final Fantasy IX, this is the song I associate with it the most. The simple melody reminds me of childhood and sets up a nostalgic atmosphere. The peaceful arrangement is both familiar and comforting, invoking the feeling of home.

4. -Dark Messenger-

An epic boss theme, but it is very different from what you expect. It starts off slow and takes its time to develop, creating a sense of tension and even adds a frantic piano passage making it feel unstable and keeps the listener on the edge of their seat.

5. -Hunter’s Chance-

A frantic and energising theme, that plays during the Festival of the Hunt. It perfectly captures the mood of danger and excitement, while keeping the player on their toes as the time limit counts down adding to the sense of urgency.

8 Comments

Filed under Final Fantasy Series, Music, Top 5 Lists

8 responses to “Top 5 Songs From Final Fantasy IX

  1. Great List! Dark Messenger was definitely one of the best Boss Battle Themes I’ve heard. 🙂

  2. Thanks, I found it hard keeping it to just 5, others that just missed out were “Rose of May”, “Feel My Blade” and “Vamo’Alla Flamenco”. It really is a great soundtrack! Thanks for your comment.

  3. Another game I haven’t played. Darn it! But, I listened to the music. It’s good. I like “You’re Not Alone” and “Melodies of Life” the most, too.

  4. “Melodies of Life” is definitely one of my favourites 🙂

  5. WhiteKnight597

    I think this is the exact same list I would have. Another great list!

Leave a comment