The Many Faces Of Final Fantasy IV

Final Fantasy IV is remembered as a classic that introduced many new features to the RPG genre that remain staples even today. Released in 1991, it was the first game in the Final Fantasy series to use the Active Time Battle (ATB) system that continued all the way up to Final Fantasy IX, it placed a greater emphasis on storytelling and provided deep and memorable characters with set job classes such as the Dark Knight Cecil and the Summoner Rydia. Over the years there have been many remakes and re-releases of the game all with new additions and upgrades. If you are yet to play the fantastic Final Fantasy IV, check out the options below:

Super Nintendo (1991)

The original version of the game, it was first released in English under the title of Final Fantasy II due to the fact the real Japanese Final Fantasy II and III were not translated at the time. If you are ready for a retro revisit or just want to experience the classic as it was, this version provides the intriguing storyline complete with the classic dialogue such as “You Spoony Bard!”

PlayStation (2001)

Re-released for the Sony PlayStation this version also came bundled with Chrono Trigger in the collection known as Final Fantasy Chronicles. The game received small tweaks in the translation and game play, but also included FMV sequences for the opening, which were made popular by other SquareSoft games of the era.

Game Boy Advance (2005)

Ported to the GBA, this version includes extra content, slightly updated menus and script, and increased difficulty level from previous English releases. It provides new dungeons and boss battles as well as additional weapons and items. Perfect for playing the classic on the go!

Nintendo DS (2008)

While most re-release have been minor upgrades, this version was a full 3D remake. The game featured cut scenes with voice acting, new FMV sequences, a completely new script working in material initially cut from the original, an “auto-battle” feature, an ability system and exclusive mini-games. The remake allowed the story to be presented in a more cinematic fashion.

PlayStation Portable (2011)

The most recent release of Final Fantasy IV included a remake of the original with updated 2D graphics, but also combines the sequel Final Fantasy IV: The After Years and an Interlude bridging the two stories together. If you were turned off by the 3D graphics of the NDS version, this is the option for you.

Have you played Final Fantasy IV and if so, which one did you experience?

9 Comments

Filed under Editorial, Final Fantasy Series

9 responses to “The Many Faces Of Final Fantasy IV

  1. I played FFIV on the DS. With only a few other FF titles under my belt, I wasn’t very proficient in the game’s mythology, and I hadn’t played many (if any) RPGs on the DS, but I found the game to be incredible in terms of graphics and gameplay. I had a great time with the characters, exploring Mysidia, and developing strategies. Is FFVI the one with the “underground” or some sort of alternate world? (I suppose something like that is in a bunch of FF games.) I remember being a little confused by the story at one point, but I just went with the flow, so to speak, and still had a fun time.

  2. Sorry, I meant *FFIV* in the second mention.

    • FFIV has great characters, especially for when it was first released and I’m glad you had fun with the NDS remake. FFIV does have an underground you explore, good memory. FFVI has the World of Ruin, but I think what you are refering to is from IV. Thanks for the comment.

  3. I have only ever played the original on SNES. I have been eying it for my PSP given the serious facelift and additional content, but I have too many other PSP rpg’s I haven’t gotten to yet…

    • The PSP version is great and the extra content is a nice bonus. I can understand having too many RPGs on PSP though I still have a few to finish as well! Thanks

  4. twelve

    I played it throgh on the DS, great game. The story is like a good tale, the characters are likeable, the graphics good for DS and the soundtrack…wow. Top 5 ever imo.(soundtrack that is)

    • I enjoyed the DS version too and also really like the soundtrack. I still remember playing it for the first time and being surprised at how good the story was. Thanks again!

  5. Hmm, if I got that, I might go for the PS version, since it comes with another game I want, and I don’t like handhelds. Yet, how can I pass up the SNES version when someone is called “spoony”? What can that even mean?

    • I would encourage you to play the game in any form, it’s story and characters are still great even today. Luckily for you all the remakes have kept the “Spoony Bard” line even if they were re-translated! Haha

Leave a Reply

