Top 5 PS2 RPGs

The PlayStation 2 had a massive library of games, which included many fantastic and diverse RPGs. Designers attempted to evolve the genre by improving 3D graphics and making voice acting a staple. These are my top 5 PS2 RPGs:

1. -Final Fantasy X-

When it was first released, Final Fantasy X was unbelievable. It took everything from past SquareSoft RPGs to the next level. The world of Spira was mesmerising; featuring fully 3D locations, the characters spoke for the first time in the series through the well implemented voice acting, the magical soundtrack had three composers and the battle system was intuitive and flexible. Final Fantasy X showed what RPGs could be like with the power of the new technology, while keeping the spirit of classic games intact.

2. -Kingdom Hearts-

SquareSoft had shown in the past that they could have success with mixing different creations together with Super Mario RPG. Kingdom Hearts was an action-RPG combining Disney characters with some original and Final Fantasy characters. The result was an unexpected hit, providing enjoyable combat, fun cameo appearances, great voice acting and a wonderful soundtrack. Kingdom Hearts captured the fun of classic games such as Secret of Mana while invoking nostalgia from classic Disney movies such as Aladdin and Peter Pan.

3. -Final Fantasy XII-

While Final Fantasy X was vintage RPG design brought up to the modern era, Final Fantasy XII tried something completely different. The whole world of Final Fantasy XII was one huge map that players could explore and enemies were fought without random encounters using a real-time, turn based battle system. It featured the customisable “gambit” system which allowed players to give their AI characters directions and the License Board was used to upgrade party members. Final Fantasy XII was a magical RPG with an intriguing political story and unique game play mechanics that have since been replicated in newer RPGs.

4. -Rogue Galaxy-

The first thing you will notice about Rogue Galaxy is its beautiful cel-shaded graphics. Once you have gotten further into the game you will be hooked in by the frantic and enjoyable battle system, imaginative world and characters and the deep customisation systems. Rogue Galaxy provides an entertaining Sci-fi RPG with plenty of content to keep players engaged for hours.

5. -Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King-

Dragon Quest VIII brought the fiercely traditional series into a fully three dimensional world, but retained all the features the fans loved about the older games such as turn-based battles, levelling up systems and the silent hero. The supporting characters are memorable and the dialogue is well written, providing an epic adventure with plenty to do. While other RPGs looked to change their core design Dragon Quest VIII didn’t try anything new, but every part was so well executed that players loved it anyway.

6 Comments

Filed under Dragon Quest Series, Final Fantasy Series, Kingdom Hearts Series, Rogue Galaxy, Top 5 Lists

6 responses to “Top 5 PS2 RPGs

  1. I played the first three on your list. They were awesome games. Of those on the list, Kingdom Hearts is my favorite. I’ve been wanting to play FFX again, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. This is why the PS2 is my favorite console because it has so many great games, plus I can play the awesome games from the PS1.

    • The PS2 had many great RPGs and with the ability to play PS1 games as well, it has an unmatchable library. Kingdom Hearts was such a suprise and I’m glad you liked it. Thanks

  2. twelve

    I also played the first three. FFX is one of my favourite games ever, the other two i played for some hours never to touch them again.
    KH is just not my cup tea and FFXII did away with more or less everything I liked about FF, except perhaps awesome cut scenes.

    I think FFX is the only PS2-rpg i ever finished, although I did play through FF8 on my PS2.

    • Final Fantasy X was everything I loved about the PS1 FF games with the use of the new technology and was probably the last game that had the magic of older SquareSoft titles. FFX is also one of my favourites and I am glad it is also one of yours. Thanks

  3. WhiteKnight597

    This is the first list of yours where I had drastically different opinions. I just finished DQ8 and while I found it a little too long for my tastes, it was a very solid game. I didn’t enjoy FFX as much as I enjoyed most of the previous FFs but it was still a great game. I gave KH a try recently and just couldn’t get into it at all. I really tried but the kiddy factory and the camera angles drove me crazy so I did something I rarely do in a game, which is quit. Take away the tedious backtracking in Tales of the Abyss and it’s one of my favorite PS2 RPGS along with Grandia 2. Granted, the PS2 version is almost unplayable, but the Dreamcast version is my favorite Grandia game. This may be my favorite battle system in any RPG. Yet another game I would probably include would be Wild ARMS: Alter Code F. I tried Wild ARMS on the PS1 and just could not get over the battle graphics. I’m someone who doesn’t normally put too much into graphics but they were something I could not get past in this game, although I liked the old school graphics outside of battle. I feel like this game had a very underrated OST as well.

    • I probably agree with you, because I don’t think I have been able to experience all the best PS2 RPGs (because I don’t live in USA and wasn’t playing many games during that period) so I have yet to play Tales of the Abyss and the Wild ARMS remake. I loved the first Grandia so I always wanted to play the others, but have yet to track them down. Looks like I have some RPGs to catch up on!

Leave a Reply

